Stockpiling

This week,  I cleaned out my cabinets and organized my stockpile. My husband have been working long days and evenings for 2 1/2 years. I needed to see what we actually have in our stockpile and this way I can plan our meals.

Why Stockpile?

  • It really is a great resource to fall back on when money is tight.
  • You know what you eat and you will have it on hand when you need that item.
  • When items are on sale adding money to your budget on a later day.

How to Stockpile?

  • Store the things you eat.
  • Inventory the items you have
  • Rotate- New items in back…older to front.

Where to store your stockpile?

  • Beware of extreme heat or cold and an excess of light. Keep in a cool, dry and dark place. This may be your cabinets, under a bed in a box or under the stairs.

How can I stockpile when I am broke?

  • You can start one or two can goods at a time.
  •  Using your coupons
  •  buy one get one free.

I stockpiling and am not hoarding. By stockpiling you have ingredients in your home and when you are really broke you can “shop in your cupboards” I have said many times when we are the most broke we eat the best. I prepare and plan our meals. When you really think about what you are going to eat you can save money.

 

If you have any stockpiling tips I would love to hear!  Have a great day, Candy

2 Responses to “Stockpiling”

  1. Sue Leimkuehler Says:

    I love to stockpile also! There are certain foods that we tend to eat a lot of. These go on sale every 3-4 months. So we have figured out about how many to buy to last that long and store it in the pantry or freezer, depending on what it is. Also we like the 10 for 10 and one free sales.

  2. Kelli Says:

    I usually stockpile when the stores are having their “10 for $10” sales…And use coupons!


Leave a Reply

