Happy (frugal) Birthday

Today is my honey’s birthday! I thought today would be a great day to talk about Frugal birthday ideas.

When I was a little girl my Grandma would call and play a record of a silly birthday song. When my children were little my sister found that same song and gave copies to my mom and I. Now we are the keepers of the song and play the song on birthdays. Today was no different and Randy heard the song. Something special…A tradition…Free and memorable! Thanks to My Grandma Young

When our oldest daughter was 3 we had a party at Zoo, Why because our friends had one for their daughter….Bad idea because it cost $12 per person kids and adults because most didn’t have zoo memberships and you received a lite lunch and you were on your own…That was a valuable lesson.. Don’t try to compete!

When our second daughter was 5 her birthday was tight. I was a stay at home mom and I had invited family over for some cake and ice cream. When I realized I had $10 in my checking account…This was before budgeting. I thought I would make a cake from scratch, it turned out to be a flop….When my mom had called and said “hey, don’t get a cake I picked up one and ice cream” When my mom stopped over she did have cake, ice cream and goodies….Answered Prayers!

When the boys started having parties we had themed parties at home.

Frugal Party ideas

  • We buy 2 liters of soda and have a marker to write names on cups, then you know what cup is yours and you waste less.
  • buy smaller cups too!
  • we buy a ham and have it sliced or make sloppy joes and it goes further feeding more.
  • We share decorations for different occasions with a few of our friends and pass from occasion to occasion. When we add to it we just have more.
  • We make our own cake usually, but I have been known to pick up a McDonald’s cake. The prices vary, but at our McDonald’s they are $5 for a 1/2 sheet cake.
  • Pot Luck and help each other it makes lighter work for you and them.
  • Make your own invitations. Use your computer or pick up the invites at the dollar store.
  • We freezer water filled milk jugs and use it for ice in the cooler.

Kid parties: have a treasure hunt, Piñata We made them and they are a lot of work. We make our own pin the tail on the donkey – That goes with our theme example pin the bow on Barbie’s head or pin the tail on the dinosaur. We made walking sticks for a treasure hunt. Decorate you own cupcake or make your own ice cream sundae.

We make our own pizzas, rent a movie, and make popcorn and Randy always make a good breakfast in the morning for them. We are a good team.

I have learned over the years to make birthday cakes and have a dinner together is the best way to spend your birthdays.

What are some of you frugal Birthday party ideas?

Have a great day, Candy

3 Responses to “Happy (frugal) Birthday”

  1. Candy’s frugal birthday ideas | Frugal Living News Says:

    […] My friend Candy at Deal With It, Simply! has frugal cupcake wishes on her mind at Happy (frugal) birthday! […]

  2. Jen Says:

    For my birthday (which also happens to be on Valentine’s Day!) my husband & I went to brunch at Reynolds Garden Cafe ($11.99/person, includes coffee or iced tea, a great deal!) and toured the Toledo Museum of Art (free!). We also got to see a free glass blowing demonstration in the Glass Pavillion.

    • dealwithitsimply Says:

      Jen, That sounds like a wonderful birthday! Thanks, I love the Art museum and should get there more often. Thanks for the tips


Leave a comment